Shabbat Shlama – Come my Beloved

Come my Beloved
Come my Beloved

Come my Beloved. Our “Beloved” is G-d Himself.

I just wanted to share with you this verse in a song…Lechah Dodi.  It was composed by the 16th century Kabbalist Rabbi Shlomo HaLevi Alkabetz.  This is just one of the verses that particularly caught my attention this week as I am preparing for the Sabbath.

Let me share a little more!  The song is based on the Talmud’s description of the Sages’ joyous greeting of the Sabbath (Shabbos 119a).

“Enter, O bride! Enter, O bride!”

Come my Beloved. Our “Beloved” is G-d Himself.  We invite Him to join us in ushering in the Sabbath.

The Bride.

The Midrash teaches that G-d told the newly created Sabbath, “Israel shall be your mate.”  Accordingly, every week, Israel greets the approaching Sabbath like a groom awaiting his bride as she advances to the wedding canopy.    Bride, [כַּלָּה] as I have come to know the word is some sometime interpreted as an allusion to the Shechinah, G-d’s Presence, which was withdrawn from man due to Israel’s sins. We ask G-d, [my beloved] to join us in greeting the Shechinah, signifying our prayer for an end to the exile.

Note: If you were to study the word ‘beloved,’ you would find the Hebrew spelling for this word written differently.  Also know that they several ways of the word for ‘beloved’ has different references to the word.  For example,

יְדִיד (Yadid)

[יָדִיד] adjective (poetry) beloved (Late Hebrew id., Aramaic ) — construct יְדִיד Deuteronomy 33:12; suffix לִידִידִי Isaiah 5:1 (twice in verse); Jeremiah 11:15; לִידִידוֺ Psalm 127:2; plural suffix יְדִידֶיךָ Psalm 60:7; Psalm 108:7; feminine יְדִידֹת Psalm 45:1; יְדִידוֺת Psalm 84:2;

1.  my beloved, used by prophets of ׳י under figure of husbandman Isaiah 5:1 (twice in verse); so my (thy, his) beloved Jeremiah 11:15; Psalm 60:7 = Psalm 108:7; Psalm 2; beloved, of Benjamin as beloved by ׳י Deuteronomy 33:12.

2.  lovely, מַהיְּֿדִידוֺת מִשְׁכְּנוֺתֶיךָ Psalm 84:2 how lovely are thy habitations

3.  feminine plural as abstract substantive שִׁיר יְדִידֹת Psalm 45:1 = a song of love.

דָּמָה (Damah)

Followed by לְ of external appearance Songs 1:9; of quality or condition Isaiah 46:5 (object ׳י) Lamentations 2:13; followed by אֶל of external appearance Isaiah 40:18,25 (both object God in reference to idols); absolute use comparisons or similitude’s (parables, symbols, etc.) Hosea 12:11 (subject ׳י).

Numbers 33:56
HEB: וְהָיָ֗ה כַּאֲשֶׁ֥ר דִּמִּ֛יתִי לַעֲשׂ֥וֹת לָהֶ֖ם
NAS: And as I plan to do
KJV: Moreover it shall come to pass, [that] I shall do unto you, as I thought to do
INT: become and plan to do will do

Esther 4:13
HEB: אֶסְתֵּ֑ר אַל־ תְּדַמִּ֣י בְנַפְשֵׁ֔ךְ לְהִמָּלֵ֥ט
NAS: to Esther, Do not imagine that you in the king’s
KJV: Esther, Think not with thyself
INT: Esther not imagine thyself escape

Psalm 48:9
HEB: דִּמִּ֣ינוּ אֱלֹהִ֣ים חַסְדֶּ֑ךָ
NAS: We have thought on Your loving-kindness,
KJV: We have thought of thy loving-kindness,
INT: have thought God your loving-kindness

צַח (Tsach)

Dazzling, glowing, clear; — חֹם צַח Isaiah 18:4 glowing heat; רוּחַ צַח Jeremiah 4:11 glowing wind; דּוֺדִי צַח וְאָדוֺם Songs 5:10 my beloved is dazzling (white) and ruddy (compare Lamentations 4:7); feminine plural לְדַבֵּר צַחוֺת Isaiah 32:4 to speak clear (words), clearly.

Songs 5:10
HEB: דּוֹדִ֥י צַח֙ וְאָד֔וֹם דָּג֖וּל
NAS: My beloved is dazzling and ruddy,
KJV: My beloved [is] white and ruddy,
INT: my beloved is dazzling and ruddy Outstanding

Isaiah 18:4
HEB: בִמְכוֹנִ֑י כְּחֹ֥ם צַח֙ עֲלֵי־ א֔וֹר
NAS: quietly Like dazzling heat
KJV: in my dwelling place like a clear heat
INT: my dwelling heat dazzling and sunshine

Isaiah 32:4
HEB: תְּמַהֵ֖ר לְדַבֵּ֥ר צָחֽוֹת׃
NAS: will hasten to speak clearly.
KJV: shall be ready to speak plainly.
INT: will hasten to speak clearly

Ponder this before you speak!  So, you now have been given a tad taste  the important usage of  a word(s) not just in the English language but in Hebrew and Aramaic.  Oh, how much ‘life and death’ are in the tongue when speaking.

With the many challenges to or during the week, I so look forward to the preparation and the time  Shabbat.  Being able to leave the world to its turmoils, turnings with constant tornadoes…spending this time with Yehweh is such a refreshing, alive with revival, Chayah,  that every soul yearns for or should.

We are so fortunate to have a choice to obey the commandments out of ‘Love’ and not through ceremony.  When love is the foundation to all that we do, there is such shalom [peace] within.

Not only does the body enjoy the rest, but our minds are revived with new guidance for the days after the Sabbath.  We seek Him to be in love with Him, ministering, worshiping, loving Him in pleasing manners as that which a bride and groom smile and giggle at the first glimpses.  Anticipating the time of aloneness, if I can use that non-word, but I am sure you understand the spiritual bondage that I am referring to.  Allowing no interruptions, turn off all electronic devices that would intrude with your alone time, now that’s a word I am sure you can relate to.

Loving, just Him…and ONLY…Him.

Enjoy your Sabbath rest…Rest Well in His Presence.

Shabbat Shlama

Respectfully yours,

Sheliyahh Janet E Brown

